The double lion god.



. . . . .This is Aker, the double lion god, the gaurdian of the sunrise and sunset. Between the lions is the akhet symbol which represents the horizon on which the sunrises or sets. This symbol is made up of a solar disk cradled between the two peaks of the mountain djew. The western peak was called Manu, while the eastern peak was called Bakhu. It was these peaks that supported the sky.

© 1996-2016 Deurer
All Rights Reserved


The next god is Amun.

List of Mythological Deities




Home Page

Ancient Gallery Directory

Tour Egypt. .Egyptian Mythology Gallery

Time Warp Gallery Directory. . Modern Gallery Directory

Gallery Store Directory. . Egyptian Web Sites. . The Children's Gallery

Gallery Guest Book. ...Ancient Egyptian Design. .... . . Search the WWW